Venice

I just ate amazing well just real buffalo mozarella, it totally made this miserable wet day in Venice. The mini pizza was shit. It snowed which was cool.

dsc_04931

dsc_0491

I love Italian food and it is probably my favourite food to cook but that might be because its so hard to find good Italian food in Melbourne. Im not into Lygon Street Italian, sweet, creamy or over complicated sauces, or mushy rice or pasta – I like it simple. I love peasant food, Im happy with stale toasted bread in tomato soup.  I will only eat Italian cooked by Italian family friends or from a few restaurants (if anyone has any good ones Id love to know about them). My favourite thing to have with spaghetti is cherry tomatoes fried on a low heat with whole garlic in olive oil until everything is soft and thats when I mush it all into the oil and chuck the spaghetti in. I might have it with a little bit of cheese or basil but its great just as it is.

dsc_0488

On a night out in Barcelona I met this guy from Venice and I asked him where I should eat. He told me what I had feared, that I wouldnt eat good food unless got way out of the cities or ate at someones house. I cannot do either of these things. Italians dont go out to dinner so almost all the restaurants are for tourists most of the boasting a tourist menu, such a turn off. So Venice is a really amazing place to see but I couldnt have stayed there more than a day, apart from the people working everyone is a tourist. A girl was telling me that only 30,000 people live there but 34,000,000 or something ridiculous like that visit every year. And everything besides gelato is so expensive.

dsc_0459

dsc_0472

dsc_0482

dsc_0480

Beirut – Postcards From Italy (zSHARE)

Bookmark and Share Bookmark and Share AddThis Feed Button

3 responses to “Venice

  1. Hi babe, im soooo jealous [still] your blog looks exciting , the market in spain looked great, pity you are not enjoying Florence, where is the next stop? Love your work[arghhh imagine traveling ,eating great job. Tasted any good wine?Love you Mum[me]xxx

  2. most of the wine in spain was good for the price. the food in italy is terrible, i hate eating bad food, it totally effects my mood. my meal last night was shit. i had mozarella salad, bread soup (ours is so much better) and ricotta & spinach ravioli. i wish i knew some italians who could make me a decent meal. i just want some oily pasta!

    im going to rome tonight and i cannot wait until i get to austria and czech and away from these fucking tourists.

    i feel sorry for the italians who have to put up with these people and its the low season at the moment. yikes.

  3. you peasant you.

Leave a Reply

